Cobblestone Society Annual Meeting

Saturday, November 6, 2021

The Cobblestone Church

ATTENDANCE: Members could participate by Zoom, in the Proctor Room or in person in the church. Registration was required, and is on file.

Attendees were entertained prior to the meeting by Jan-Mikael Erakare. The invocation was provided by Trustee, Rev. Dr. Don Algeo.

The 61st Annual Meeting was called to order by President Erin Anheier.

Minutes from the November 2020 annual meeting were provided to members in attendance. After opportunity for review, a motion was made by Gerard Morrisey to accept the 2020 minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Dick Remley and carried.

Treasurer's Report: Report of the Treasurer, Kevin Hamilton, was presented by Executive Vice President, Richard Remley. There is a deficit at this time but the Treasurer anticipates that to be recovered by the end of the year. The report provided a list of highlights for the year. The Federal Payroll Protection Program provided \$11,200. We received \$6,900 from Shuttered Venue Grant and \$8,500 from Employee Retention Tax Credit. Another \$9,300 is anticipated from Shuttered Venue Grant before the end of the year. The capital campaign is allowing us to purchase the Burke property without borrowing and the successful capital campaign for the Vagg House allowed the completion of the financing five years early. Other successes included return of the Membership Dinner fundraiser, an Orleans County Legislative grant, our summer intern fully funded by the Dunn Martin Internship Program, 2,149 volunteer-hours (2020), and over 60 articles on various aspects of the hamlet of Childs in support of the Five to Revive program. Motion to accept the report made by Bill Lattin. A second of the motion by Mark Bower and it was carried.

Election of Trustees and Officers: Mark Bower presented a slate of officers and trustees for election consideration as printed on agenda. There were no nominations from the floor.

A motion was made by Chris Sartwell and seconded by Brenda Radzinski to accept the slate as presented and have the secretary cast one ballot for the slate as presented. The motion was carried.

Mark Bower thanked outgoing officers and trustees, Shirley Bright-Neeper, Bill Lattin, Don Algeo, Kim Charron, and Maarit Vaga. Bill Lattin and Maarit Vaga will continue to serve on the Board of Trustees in newly elected roles.

Proposed By-Laws Amendment: Mark Bower, Nominating Chairperson, presented the language change proposed for Article VI: Officers and Article VII: Trustees. Copies of the change were provided to the members. See copy of proposed change attached. It was reviewed and discussed. The change from a one-year term for officers to a three-year term drew concerns, as well as a new requirement that officers must serve as a trustee for at least one year. A motion was made by Dick Remley and seconded by Gail Johnson to table the proposal. The motion to table was carried.

Presentation of awards: Brenda Radzinski presented the Proctor Award to Toni Plummer and Sue Bonafini presented the Volunteer of the Year Award to Gail Johnson.

President Erin Anheier called for any additional business. Hearing none, a motion to adjourn was made by Dick Remley and a second was received from Gerard Morrisey. The motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 1:30pm.

Minutes taken by Christine Sartwell

Following the meeting, Richard Remley, Visitors Center Fundraising Chairman, gave a presentation – "Next Step for the Cobblestone Museum," and Bill Lattin gave a special tour at the Vagg House titled, "Housewarming for the New Exhibit: The Mary Miller Murray Dollhouse."